Alcohol is sweeping America's minors away. In a 2019 survey, 29% of high school students said they drank alcohol at some point during the previous 30 days.
DUIs are sweeping across Illinois. 20,131 drivers were arrested in Illinois for DUIs in 2020. 90% of these drivers lost their driving privileges.
In 2019, ABC News reported that eleven million Americans go without their driver's licenses due to unpaid fines alone. While something as simple as failing to pay a few traffic tickets can lead to a suspended license, there are a wide variety of reasons why an individual might lose their license.
Six Questions to Ask Your Wheaton DUI License Suspension Attorney
Driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or above is considered Driving Under the Influence in Illinois. Officially, a DUI means driving or operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, prescription drugs, or illegal drugs. Being arrested for a DUI means you are too impaired to drive a car safely.
In 2020, thousands of Illinoisans were arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Almost all (91 percent) of them had their driver's license suspended. To reduce public risk, Illinois uses the breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).
A DUI is no laughing matter. More than 39,000 car crashes occurred in Illinois in 2020.
Drinking while driving significantly increases a person's risk of being in an accident. That's why Illinois police officers also made almost 6,000 arrests for DUIs. Just being arrested for a DUI can have serious ramifications; one of them is license suspension.
A DUI arrest record can be damaging for your professional career. More than 90% of employers say that they check their employees' criminal backgrounds. Having a misdemeanor or felony DUI can be a substantial barrier to being hired anywhere in Schaumburg, let alone seeking a license reinstatement.
Every day, 29 people in the U.S. die from accidents involving an alcoholically-impaired driver. For this reason, the law takes DUIs very seriously. You can have this charge on your record for quite some time, and you may get a revoked license. However, there are ways you can fight this issue, if you were wrongfully accused of a DUI in the Arlington Heights area. In this guide, you'll learn about what evidence police officers look for in DUI arrests, and how to avoid them. It also provides information on how to get your driver's license back if it gets revoked or suspended.
A DUI arrest, moving violation convictions, and even failure to pay your child support all can systematically lead to you surrendering your privilege to drive. Once you've had a temporary license suspension, you can apply with the Illinois Secretary of State for a restricted driver's permit. This is your next step to attaining full-fledged license reinstatement. So, what happens when you jump through all the hoops, and the Secretary of State office still denies you a restricted permit? What did you do wrong? What is your next move? Learn the reasons the state might have denied you a license, and the steps you can take to earn back your driving privileges in the Schaumburg area.
You could be one of those drivers that get charged with a DUI, even if you are not in your home state. Legal matters for DUI license suspension and revocation are already complicated enough, but now you have to wonder what you have to do if you committed the act in another state? Do you have to stay there and/or go back for court hearings? Can you deal with this from your home in St. Charles? This is your guide for if you get a DUI outside of Illinois.
For most of you, receiving a DUI is a new situation that can make you feel intimidated and unprepared. Here is what you should expect for your first DUI in Illinois.
If you or a loved one have had your license suspended or revoked in the Wheaton area, you probably are dealing with a lot of hardships on your day-to-day life. Luckily, license reinstatement is an option to potentially save your license and keep your legal ability to drive. Here are the things you need to know in order to get license reinstatement following a DUI conviction.
There's nothing wrong with having a few drinks every now and then, but it's essential to always have a plan for how you are going to get around Aurora and the surrounding area without ever driving under the influence. Let's take a look at some of the ways you can avoid a license suspension, or an even worse outcome, when you've been drinking.
Alcohol and marijuan laws in the United States are complicated to say the least. For instance, fourteen states, including Illinois, have legalized recreational marijuana. The majority of states have open container laws, which significantly limit where and when you can drink in public. Federal law also prohibits driving with a certain amount of alcohol in your system. However, the drunk driving laws are some of the few that apply at a federal level. In most other cases, drinking and marijuana laws are slightly different in each state. We'll talk about the situation in Naperville and the rest of Illinois, especially regarding open container laws, in this article.
In the unfortunate instance that you are pulled over during a DUI checkpoint, the sense that you’ve made a massive mistake, and have possibly earned a DUI license suspension, will start to set in. However, there is a fair and important discussion on DUI checkpoints and how they might be unconstitutional by violating the rights of those involved. It boils down to the Fourth Amendment in the United States Constitution. Let’s discuss the validity of DUI checkpoints and whether or not they violate your Fourth Amendment rights in the Elgin area.
Drunk driving laws in Illinois mandate some type of license suspension. Moreover, you could face jail time if you're a repeat offender, or if you're grossly over BAC levels. Community service is a common punishment as well. However, it is very rare that you would face prison time. Still, the penalties can be long and severe. You can alleviate the situation with the help if a DUI lawyer in the St. Charles area who can guide you from beginning to end. This article will examine how Illinois state law deals with drivers under the influence. Let's explore.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, you might be wondering what steps you need to take to make the process go as smoothly as possible. The legal system can be confusing and difficult to navigate, but it's best to not procrastinate dealing with this circumstance and get a DUI specialist by your side. Are you wondering what happens after a DUI charge and what you need to do in and around Schaumburg? Here, we go over what you need to know.
How Did I Get an Aurora IL Revoked License, and How Can I Get it Back?
We all make mistakes, but unfortunately some have difficult consequences. If you’ve had several run-ins with the law on the highway, then you may have found yourself with a revoked license. You can no longer legally drive unless you have a special hardship license that allows you to drive for work or some other limited reason. A revoked license is different than a suspended license in many ways. We created this guide to help you determine the difference and learn the specific ways to get your license back. It’s also important to know what you need to get your license back from the state.
Do I need a Restricted Driving Permit for an Aurora Driver's License Reinstatement?
Losing your license was probably a troublesome event. You made one bad decision, and all of a sudden you aren't able to drive to work, school, or buy groceries. If you don't have a relative or someone who can drive for you, you might be at a loss for what you can do. Don't let this hardship get you down for too long. You can apply for a restricted driver's permit that will allow you to drive. However, as with any driving permit, there are some major restrictions that you must abide by. Soon enough though, you could be eligible for a full restoration of your driving privileges. For now, this is the best you can do.
Is There a Statute of Limitations for a DUI?
Police made more than 26,000 DUI arrests in Illinois during 2019. Ninety percent of drivers who got arrested for DUI lost their driving privileges. It's hard to defend yourself after you get arrested for drunk driving, but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible. One possible defense that many defendants don't consider is the statute of limitations on a DUI in IL. Still, many don't even know what a statute of limitations is, or how it applies to a DUI. Here is a guide to help you with this little known defense strategy.
What is the Zero Tolerance Law in Illinois?
Zero Tolerance is the official policy on underage drinking and driving in Illinois. According to statistics, just 10% of licensed drivers are under the age of 21. This demographic is also responsible for 17% of alcohol-related fatal crashes. If you’re under 21 and caught drinking, you could face having your license revoked, as well as other dire consequences. Below is all the information you’ll need on the Zero Tolerance Law in Illinois.
Understanding DUI Laws Surrounding Marijuana in Illinois?
Illinois has legalized marijuana, but the laws can be murky, and you may find yourself unjustly entangled in the legal system. The state is taking marijuana DUI cases seriously, as DUI marijuana deaths are on the rise. DUI marijuana charges are no laughing matter as you could face jail time for a first-time offense. In this article, we will explore marijuana DUIs in Illinois in greater detail.
Getting a Restricted License in Illinois Following a DUI?
You might be wondering how to get a restricted license to avoid a total loss of driving privileges. Of course, DUI laws vary by state. However, most will require some type of suspension or revocation of a drivers license after conviction of DUI. This does not mean all hope is lost. You may still be eligible for a restricted license where you can work. back up to full driving provileges. If you are wondering how to get an Illinois restricted license after a DUI, we outline the way for you in this article.
Everything You Need to Know About Blood Testing for DUIs?
What are your options for testing, and what can you do if you are convicted of a DUI? Having a blood test DUI done is the most accurate way that officers can determine your blood alcohol concentration. Here is how the test works, what you can expect from your situation, and what you can do after being convicted.
How Long Will a DUI Stay on My Record?
If you've been charged with a DUI, you probably have a lot of questions, like:
What does this mean for my future? Can I be fired for a DUI? How long is a DUI on my record?
The answers to those questions and more vary greatly based on the state where the offense takes place. If you're in Illinois, we can help you with the information you need. Here, we discuss Illinois DUI laws, how long you can expect it to stay on your record, and what to do if you receive a DUI charge.
Is Avoiding a DUI Checkpoint Probable Cause to Be Pulled Over?
You're driving home one night and suddenly you notice a ton of flashing lights up ahead. It's a police roadblock. Maybe you've had a couple of drinks, or maybe you just don't want to deal with it, so you quickly change your route. Can this lead to more problems? Are police allowed to pull you over for avoiding a DUI checkpoint? Every driver needs to know the answers to these questions. Here, we review what you need to know about DUI checkpoints in Illinois.
How Long Will the BAIID Be on Your Vehicle After a DUI Conviction?
Approximately 12,000 drivers in Illinois have a BAIID installed on their car or truck. They are installed in an attempt to reduce drunk driving. If you have been convicted of a DUI in Illinois, you may be required to install a BAIID onto your vehicle. Let's learn what a BAIID is, how much it costs, and hat happens if you don't follow the proper procedures when using it.
Common Mistakes Made After a DUI Arrest
Common Mistakes Made After a DUI ArrestGetting behind the wheel after drinking is a big miscalculation on your part, but it doesn't have to be the end of your future. It is a common mistake, after all. The results of your first time DUI will depend a lot on how you handle your situation following your arrest. Making the right moves can help to better a bad situation. What common mistakes should you avoid making after this king of incident? Let's go over what you need to know.
What Will Your Illinois DUI Lawyer Ask You?
Dealing with the aftermath of a DUI charge can be stressful. You're concerned about possible fines, losing your license, and you're trying to figure out how to handle your upcoming day in court. You've found a great DUI lawyer, but you've never had to get legal help and you don't know what to expect. Your lawyer is going to be asking you a lot of questions and you need to be prepared to answer them. Luckily for you, we know exactly what you need to do. If you want to know what questions to anticipate when you talk to your lawyer, here is a short list of the most likely questions you will receive.
Can the Police Seize Your Car During a DUI Arrest?
During a DUI arrest, a number of things are bound to happen. The extent is going to be determined by the severity of the case, the entities involved, the laws broken, and much more. One such occurrence is whether or not the police have the right to seize your vehicle during a DUI arrest. Simply put, they do, provided that certain qualifications are met. Here we will cover all of the aspects of seizure and forfeiture of a vehicle by the police and what you can do about it.
There are more than 220 million licensed drivers across the US. While your driving license provides great freedom, is also means you have a serious responsibility to other road users. Driving safely will keep you and others safe while on the road. Unfortunately, each year there are over one million arrests for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, which results in serious consequences for the drivers in question. If you think that getting a DUI in another state is any less serious or is something you can do without anyone knowing, this is not the case. If you get a DUI in another state while holding an Illinois driver's license, you need to know exactly what it means for you.
According to the U.S. Census data, Illinois has one of the lowest DUI severity scores when compared to the remaining 49 states. Unfortunately, almost 3,000 DUI arrests contributed to this score. These scores reflect the influence of alcohol, but how do the stats compare to the influence of marijuana? Few statistics support the number of DUIs as a result of marijuana. It's availability for medicinal use and its recent legality for recreational use indicate it will be an issue. This begs the question which substance is more dangerous when it comes to driving impaired? Here we explore the effects of marijuana and alcohol on the body, laws relevant to Illinois, and what to do if your license has been revoked because of a DUI.
Drunk driving is not only illegal, it’s life-threatening. Every day, 29 people die in accidents that involve a driver under the influence of alcohol. The legal drinking limit in Illinois is .08. The average-size man only needs four drinks, and the average-size woman needs only three drinks to reach the legal limit. If you’re taking the family out to dinner, you may not think having a few drinks is an issue, but what if you get pulled over? You risk getting a DUI, and the consequences increase when there are kids in the car.
Drunk drivers caused approximately 28% of fatal crashes in 2016 alone. There are plenty of laws that forbid drinking and driving, and they work together with other regulations to keep everyone safe. Almost all 50 states have laws that regulate the illegal transportation of alcohol. These laws are meant to ensure that people aren't taking drinks with them on the road. The most common types of illegal alcohol transportation laws are known as open container laws. They regulate where and when you can have or drink open containers of alcohol. In this guide, find out more about the Illinois open container law, and how to transport alcohol legally.
If you’re pulled over for a DUI, what you do next could change the rest of your life. In Illinois, the minimum penalty for a DUI conviction is a suspension of your license. Depending on your circumstances, you could also face stiff penalties and even jail time. You’ve surely heard about your right to remain silent, but is remaining silent during a DUI stop a good idea? Here’s what you need to know.
In the United States, 29 people are killed every day in alcohol-related car crashes. That is one death every 50 minutes. Driving while intoxicated is one of the main reasons that people get into car crashes, and why someone might lose their driving privileges. If you need your driver’s license back, do you know the difference in requesting a hardship license vs a restricted license? Do you know the difference between a Secretary of State formal hearing and an informal hearing? It’s time to find the answers to those questions. We are going to explain the hearing process at Secretary of State, and what happens if you are denied a license. We will also explain the differences between a hardship and a restricted license, and which one is right for you.
Have you or a loved one recently been arrested for drunk driving in Illinois? Perhaps you have a DUI and want to better understand the process. One of the most important things to understand about getting a DUI is Miranda rights and how they work in conjunction with an arrest. Having the right to remain silent and the right to an attorney are highly important in any legal situation. Here is a full guide to understanding how Miranda rights apply to a DUI arrest.
Unfortunately, there are a number of people who believe that there are methods a person can use in order to trick a breathalyzer into showing a false reading if they have been pulled over under suspicion of DUI. The idea of drinking and driving is a difficult one for some people, because there's a legal amount of alcohol one can consume and still be considered legal to get behind the wheel under current laws. However, there are still those who risk it, and they could possibly believe that they have the secret to beating a breathalyzer.
Over 26,000 DUI arrests were made in Illinois in 2017. Did all of these arrests involve a DUI field sobriety test? The short answer is probably not. The long answer requires a conversation about Illinois state law and your rights under that law. Knowing the Illinois rules of the road can stop you from getting yourself into trouble, and help you navigate your way through it if you've already gotten a DUI. Here is information you need to know about DUI field sobriety tests, DUI penalties, and more.
In every part of the country, driving while intoxicated is illegal. However, that doesn’t stop people from driving to the bar to have a few drinks from time to time. We all understand that a DUI is not good, so some might think that they can just sleep in their car and be ready to drive once they wake up. Unfortunately, just because it may seem like the smart move at the time, doesn't mean it's actually legal for you to do. Let’s go over what the law says about sleeping in your car while you are intoxicated.
You don't have to be a law expert to know that evidence that was obtained illegally can be dismissed in a court case. This is right is protected under the Fourth Amendment to the US Constitution. Those rights are in place to make sure that citizens are protected against "unreasonable searches and seizures." However, there are times that those fourth amendment rights are interpreted a little differently than you might expect. When that happens, it's generally allowed under the Good Faith Exception. Let’s take a deeper look into what constitutes an illegal search and seizure and walk you through everything you need to know about the Good Faith Exception.
The state of Illinois continues to seek ways to reduce accidents and their devastating effects. You will see a number of new laws in 2020 in an effort to combat the problem. Some of the Illinois traffic laws come with stiff fines and other penalties. Here is our overview of changes to Illinois traffic rules so you can drive safer and avoid crashing into a violation.
If you’ve gotten arrested and charged with a DUI, you’re left with two choices: represent yourself, or hire an experienced DUI attorney to represent your case for you. Representing yourself may seem like a better and more affordable option, but it’s not always the best idea. Here’s why.
In the United States, it's illegal in every state to drink alcohol if you're under the age of 21. It's also illegal in every state to be driving under the influence with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher. For minors, those rules are even more strict. Especially when zero tolerance laws are implemented. Let’s go over everything you need to know about zero tolerance laws in Illinois.
There's nothing like a summer in Chicagoland. The icy wind gusts and sleeting snow have finally gone away and it's the time for baseball, picnics, block parties, and taking the boat out on the lake with the boys and some beer. Drinking and boating may seem synonymous, but boating under the influence, or BUI is just as much of an offense as a DUI on land.
Illinois takes DUIs very seriously. Anything from hefty fines to incarceration to a seized vehicle can happen to the offender. If you've been arrested for a DUI and your vehicle has been seized, you need a DUI lawyer to help you sort things out. Learn what you can do if vehicle forfeiture has happened to you due to a DUI.
There are certain things we take for granted. Picking up children from school or getting to work using your own car is natural and even crucial to some. However, what if the benefit of the personal vehicle was taken away? That's what the people of Illinois were fighting for. With support from many interested parties, the American Legislative Exchange Council is among them, the Bill to protect drivers from suspensions was passed. Now, the drivers can breathe more freely, as long as their driving remains on the right side of the law, their license remains intact. So, with that in mind, let's dive into the license to work act.
Illinois has some of the strictest DUI laws in the United States. One of these laws says that first-time DUI offenders must pay for a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) on their vehicles. If you refuse, you don't qualify for a Restricted Driving Permit or a Monitoring Device Driving Permit. That means your license is simply suspended, and you can't drive for six months or twelve months. Are you trying to get a permit to drive after a DUI arrest? Here's what you need to know about the BAIID.
As of January of 2020, recreational marijuana use will be legal in Illinois, with certain restrictions. One of those restrictions is that it is illegal for someone to drive will under the influence of marijuana, just like the laws regarding alcohol. At the same time, the state still has a problem…there's no way to test for THC in the field.
In the state of Illinois, 75% of people arrested for a DUI (driving under the influence) are men. 57% are under age 35. Most were arrested between 11 pm and 4 am with a BAC (blood alcohol level) of .16. That's twice the legal limit in Illinois. A DUI conviction is no joke. It may lead to fines, jail time, and even a DMV hold on your driver's license. All of this can make getting on with life very difficult, especially if you need to travel for any reason. However, what does a hold on your license mean? If you're wondering what a DMV hold on license is, here is a brief synopsis.
Having your driver’s license revoked creates a lot of hardship that you will have to deal with on a daily basis. We often take for granted just how much driving we do every day. If you've had a revoked license in Illinois, you may think that you'll never be able to drive again. However, by taking a few steps, you can start the process of gaining your freedom back. Let’s go over the ways that you can get your revoked driver's license back in the state of Illinois.
Did you know 86% of drivers arrested for a DUI are first time offenders? As most people are aware, driving under the influence is a serious offense in every state. Offenders face fees, loss of license, and jail time. Having a driver’s license in Illinois is considered a privilege, so violating the state’s laws subjects you to losing that privilege. Not every driver does so recreationally, however. What happens to drivers that get arrested for driving under the influence and hold a commercial driver’s license in Illinois? Find out more.
When we hear the words, "driving under the influence," most people automatically think of driving after they've been drinking. In reality, the term DUI encompasses being under the influence of a variety of substances, including prescription drugs. Drivers tend to think that the risk of driving under the influence of these substances is not as serious. This is evidenced by the fact that as many as 20% of nightime drivers were foundto test positive for some kind of drug. However, driving under the influence of prescription medications is a big deal, and can even lead to being charged with a DUI in Illinois.
It may surprise you to know that field sobriety tests only have 66-77% accuracy, and the majority of DUI arrests in Illinois get based on field sobriety tests. Yet only 77% of horizontal gaze nystagmus tests, 68% of walk-and-turn tests, and 65% of one-leg-stand tests are accurate. This begs the question, could you fail one of these tests even if you haven't been drinking any alcohol? Unfortunately, it is possible in certain circumstances. Let's take a look how.
27,046 DUI arrests were made in Illinois in 2017. If your car gets pulled over for a DUI stop, you are probably wondering what your rights are. Can you refuse a breathalyzer test? Will there be a field sobriety test? Can police officers search your car without permission? Let's take a look at some important facts.
Illinois takes DUI's very seriously. In 2009, it doubled the penalties for first-time offenders. In other words, if you get caught drinking and driving in the State of Illinois, you will get your license taken away. Fortunatley, your time behind the wheel isn't over for life. Here's how to get a revoked license reinstated.
There are some states that have expanded the DUI law. There are even states, like Illinois, that can charge you with DUI if you are sleeping in your car while intoxicated. Knowing the law is important and can save you a big headache if you decide to sleep it off in your car. Let’s go over the DUI laws in Illinois, and whether you can get arrested for sleeping drunk in your car.
If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of being arrested for a DUI, you need to know about the potential penalties and how you should proceed. Lucky for you, if it's a first-time offense, you might be eligible for court supervision. This can be beneficial to DUI offenders because it doesn't involve jail time, and you'll get the opportunity to show the courts that you can behave and not violate the law for a period of time, resulting in a -non-conviction of the DUI charge. It is time to learn more about Illinois DUI laws, potential penalties, your options, and an answer to the question, "What is court supervision?"
When you get your driver's license the first time, it is made very clear that if you abuse the privilege, it could be taken from you. It's a way of encouraging people to drive safely, but at the same time the City of Chicago and other municipalities also generate hundreds of millions in revenue from traffic tickets each year. Cities use license suspension as the carrot-and-stick to prevent non-payment of tickets. If you are wondering how you lost your license, and how to get it back, here is a brief overview of how it works in the state of Illinois.
Did you know the first DUI arrest was made in 1897? 1 in 3 people will be a part of some sort of drunk driving crash during their lifetime. So where did it all begin? What's the DUI history? In 1910, the first United States law against DUI went into effect, but there have been a lot of changes since then, and every state is different. Let's look at the history of DUI laws and in particular, and how they pertain to Illinois.
You've lost your license, so you need to make a plan not just on how to get it back, but on how you will get around. After all, "my license was revoked" will not work as an excuse to not go to work anymore. In fact, finding a way to go to work will build faith in both legal officials and your current employer. If you're a driver who recently lost his or her license in Illinois, not all hope is lost. Here are steps you can take to get your license back in Illinois.
How Will New Laws Impact Marijuana DUIs in Illinois?
Ever since it became legal and a useful replacement for patients who would otherwise use opioids, medical marijuana use has spiked in Illinois. The increase of DUIs from marijuana use is only going to climb as more people use it medicinally and then get behind the wheel. Here is everything you need to know about how things are going to change.
We're going to take a look at what you should know about receiving a DUI in Illinois in 2019, as well as what the law changes mean for sentencing. We want to reiterate, you should always drive sober. If you have consumed any alcohol, find a ride home. However, if someone you know asks what they can expect, you can share this information.
Even minor traffic offenses can leave you with a suspended or revoked license. So how are you supposed to get it back? Depending on your circumstances, you'll either need to request a formal hearing or go to an informal hearing. Not sure how those two hearings are different? We'll lay it out for you.
It is a crime in every state to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and if you are caught driving under the influence, chances are you will receive a DUI. However, a DUI conviction varies from state to state. In some states, a first-time DUI offense comes with attached jail time and a hefty fine. In others, drivers may just have to pay a fine. There are many costs associated with DUI, both on your wallet and your record. It is also important to know your options after receiving a DUI.
If you have been charged with a DUI for the first time, you might be feeling overwhelmed. You probably are worried about what will happen, and what effect a DUI will have on your future. A DUI can impact your life both personally and professionally, so it's important to understand the legal process you're facing. That's why it's a good idea to speak with a DUI attorney as soon as possible. If you are facing DUI charges, it's important to know the court process. Learn everything you need to know about your first DUI court date and what to expect.
A DUI charge does not necessarily mean you were drinking and driving. It can include driving while under the influence of prescription medications, or even over-the-counter ones. However, the penalties are usually the same for each infraction. Whenever you have been charged with DUI, whether it is for alcohol or for medications, trying to have the charges reduced is a good idea for your criminal record. While it's possible to have the charge reduced on your own, you will see far more success with the help of an attorney.
In 1990, the US Supreme Court decided that despite the Fourth Amendment, which protects citizens from searches and seizures, sobriety checkpoints are completely legal. The argument is that checkpoints are ways to protect the innocent from drunk drivers. If you are living in Illinois, and encounter a sobriety checkpoint, it's vitally important that you understand what rights you have during these searches.
While there are no verifiable stats, there are many more unlicensed drivers on the road than you think. The reasons people choose to drive without driver's license might vary, however one thing remains true. Unlicensed drivers make the roads a safety hazard for themselves and everyone around them. In an effort to keep our roads safe, learn why driving without a valid driver's license in Illinois is a bad idea.
Your driver's license can be suspended or revoked for a number of reasons, these include unpaid traffic tickets or a DUI. As we all know, people make mistakes, and sometimes these mistakes can lead to major hardships in our lives. A suspended license can mean not being able to drive to work, drive your children to school, or even to go get groceries. Learning how to reinstate your Illinois driver's license can seem overwhelming, but there are things you can do to get the ball rolling.
Handling the aftermath of a DUI charges can take weeks, or even months. When you're faced with steep fines, the possible loss of your license, and even jail time, you want to look into any way you can make things better for yourself in the long run. DUI counseling may sound extreme and not a very desirable way to spend your free time, but it could be what you need to turn things around. Sometimes attendance of DUI counseling is optional but, in other cases, you may not have a choice. Here is some more information on what to expect from DUI counseling classes.
You already know that a DUI could land you in jail, and costs thousands of dollars in legal fees, but did you know that car insurance for DUI offenders can spike anywhere from 30-200 percent? If you have already been involved in a DUI and you are wondering what to expect from your car insurance in Illinois, then you are in the right place. Let's discuss how a DUI impacts your car insurace rates and policy.
In 2016, the state of Illinois arrested nearly 30,000 drivers for a DUI or Driving Under the Influence. Those who ahve received DUIs may wonder, "Can you get fired for a DUI?" In many cases, companies are well within their legal right to let you go for driving under the influence, let's examine this further.
One of the hot button issues in the country is the dangers of driving drunk, but did you know that driving while tired or drowsy can be just as dangerous? Drinking alcohol has harmful effects, at the same time heavy fatigue can be just as detrimental. Making sure you handle both situations properly is the key to safe driving. How bad is driving tired vs driving drunk? The following article shows important statistics about the dangers of driving while tired or while under the influence of alcohol.
In 2018, a nurse in Utah was arrested and found herself between the rights of an unconscious man and law enforcement. Months later, the nurse got compensation for her wrongful arrest, and the officer who areested her lost his job. This was an extreme case but it showcases the stringent DUI laws now on the books, and the precarious position of health officials. They become responsible for enforcing the law and argue those who critize the rules. Illinois is no differemt. Earlier this year, the rules for those refusing a breathalyzer test became stricter. Here's what you need to know.
Have you recently lost your Illinois driver's license? Do you know how long it takes to reinstate a license? Every year in Illinois, nearly 40,000 drivers are charged with a DUI. Whether they were driving just a few blocks in Chicago, or across the state, driving under the influence is dangerous behavior. Once you have lost your license, you may be wondering how long it takes to reinstate a license in Illinois. In general, police, prosecutors, and families take the charge very seriously, so it is important that you show remorse for your actions. In the meantime, while you're trying to reinstate your license in Illinois, follow these important steps.
In Illinois, the Secretary of State (SOS) can revoke or suspend your driver's license for several reasons. This can be having too many traffic violations, failing to pay your traffic tickets, getting DUIs, or failing to make child support payments. These cases can lead to a suspension or revocation. A suspension means there's an end date, while a revocation is usually indefinite and requires a hearing to reinstate. Whatever the case, losing your driving privileges can be quite frustrating. For that reason, you need to know how to get a hardship license.
Is your license suspended/revoked in another state, or just the state of origin? Matters can get confusing quickly. If you are confused as to what to do if you have moved to Illinois with a suspended/revoked license from another state, follow these guidelines. It is tempting to believe that if you switch states, you may be able to wipe the slate clean and begin driving again. This is unfortunately not true.
The reinstatement of an Illinois Driver License is a long road. Depending on your situation and charges, there are many steps in the process, and most people are unprepared for what to do next. It takes time and knowledge to understand all the laws, let alone navigate them. As with any legal proceeding, citizens who consult a lawyer are able to understand what lies ahead for them. Avoiding myths and advice from those who have no legal training avoids small mistakes that cause big problems. Learn more about why hiring a lawyer would be in your best interest.
Do you have a Suspended or a Revoked Driver's License? Counting down the days until you can legally drive again? Wondering about the conditions of your infraction? Learning the difference between the two is key to knowing what actions you need to take. Don't give up hope if your license has been suspended, which can be reinstated after paying fines or meeting other conditions. However, revocation entails a larger amount of work. Read more here about the difference between the two.