Losing your license was probably a troublesome event. You made one bad decision, and all of a sudden you aren't able to drive to work, school, or buy groceries. If you don't have a relative or someone who can drive for you, you might be at a loss for what you can do.
Don't let this hardship get you down for too long. You can apply for a restricted driver's permit that will allow you to drive. However, as with any driving permit, there are some major restrictions that you must abide by. Soon enough though, you could be eligible for a full restoration of your driving privileges. For now, this is the best you can do.
Here is everything that you need to know about a restricted driver's permit. You can also learn how it can help you to get a driver's license reinstatement.
What is a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP)?
A restricted driving permit is a partial restoration of driving privileges after revocation or suspension. It allows you to drive with restrictions, usually as a probationary device. The permit only allows you to drive when it is relating to the following situations:
- Your education
- Family member education
- Medical reasons
- Support group meetings
- Child daycare or elder care
To be eligible for the restricted driving permit, drivers have to prove that they no longer pose a risk to the safety of others, and they have experienced undue hardship as a result of the loss of their license. Some drivers may never be eligible for full reinstatement of their license; however, they may be able to drive with a RDP.
When Do You Need a Restricted Driving Permit?
Drivers might need to obtain a restricted driving permit to have their driver's licenses reinstated. The restricted driving permit is sometimes a requirement given by the Illinois Secretary of State to become eligible. In fact, drivers can be eligible for a restricted driving permit, even if they are not eligible for driver's license reinstatement.
How Long is a Restricted Driving Permit Valid For?
A restricted driver's permit is valid for twelve to twenty-four months. After nine months or 20 months, drivers may be able to apply for the RDP renewal. If eligible, drivers can apply for reinstatement of full driving privileges after nine months. There is a chance that the driver will have to use the restricted driving permit for five years before full privileges are given back.
In some cases, the driver may never be eligible and will have to have a restricted driver's permit for the rest of their lives.
How to Get a Driver's License Reinstated
It's no secret that getting your license back after it's been revoked or suspended is extremely difficult. The Illinois Driver's License Reinstatement process is complicated. However, it is possible to get back on the road legally.
Request a Hearing: Formal or Informal
Formal hearings are required when a driver lost their license due to causing a fatality or having multiple DUI offenses. There is a $50 non-refundable fee for the formal hearing.
At the hearing, the hearing officer will gather all of the evidence and then make an information-based decision on whether or not you can have your driving privileges back.
Request Hearing Results
Within ninety days, you should have your results. Once you get them, you will be able to get back to some semblance of normalcy.
Terminate Safety Responsibility Suspension
The Safety Responsibility Law requires that you provide proof of your personal financial responsibility. This is done by obtaining SR22 Insurance.
Pay Reinstatement Fee
There are a few fees that you have to pay to get your license reinstated. You will have to pay either a $250 or a $500 Statutory Summary Suspensions or Revocations. Then there is a $70 Zero Tolerance Suspension fee.
Once these fees are paid, you will be one step closer to getting either partial or full driving privileges restored.
You can use this Illinois Department of Transportation's portal to determine your fee amounts.
Get Your Restricted Driving Permit
Once you've been granted partial driving privileges, you will have to continue driving with the restricted driving permit until you qualify for reinstatement.
You will be given a restricted driving permit when the Illinois Secretary of State determines that:
- You are not eligible for reinstatement
- Your license was revoked for DUI (and required a probationary period)
- You had two or more DUI encounters and have to wait five years for reinstatement
If you're a repeat DUI offender, the restricted driver's permit can come with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) for a certain amount of time to ensure that you are not going to drink and drive. This is in place to protect you and anyone that may get harmed as a result of your poor decision-making.
Apply for Reinstatement
After nine months of driving with a restricted driving permit, you may be able to apply for reinstatement. This is, of course, assuming that you continue to follow the rules of the permit and remember to act within the traffic laws for Illinois.
We Can Help
The Law Offices of John M. Quinn & Associates can help you to get your license reinstated. We will do everything that we can to get you back on track and back on the road.
With our experience with the driver's license reinstatement process, we can get the ball rolling and get you back on the road.
Contact us today for a free consultation where we can go over your case and explain how to get your driving privileges reinstated.